My Biggest Fan

My Biggest Fan

When my son was playing baseball for the local little league team, I was really upset seeing this one boy who never had his parents sitting in the bleachers to cheer him on. Strangely enough, he wasn’t an orphaned child; his parents always dropped him off and left the park to have their “me time.” I understand we all need to have time alone; however, it’s important to always be supportive of our children in their many endeavors.

As a little girl, I remember bringing my report card home with what I would consider good grades. I also recall the look that appeared when that A- was spotted and then the “is this the best you could do” question followed. It really hurt. I felt like I wasn’t good enough. Sadly I know I was not the only person to experience this type of situation, which certainly does not give one’s self esteem a boost.

Even so there is this Fan that we have out there rooting us on. We have someone who is always sitting on the bleachers, always waving the poster board cheering for us. Sometimes we don’t hear the cheers because so many around us ignore our special gifts. At times we understand that the Fan is there, but we don’t feel like we are deserving of the attention and the love.

Our biggest fan is God. He is our amazing Creator and He takes pride in His creation. He formed each one of us and He knows us better than anyone can ever know us. He treats each of us like His only child. Every time we step up to bat and we swing, He cheers. It doesn’t matter if we hit the ball, simply that we swing. He takes pride seeing us grow and be happy. He never takes His eyes off of us and we are never out of His reach. He never leaves to have “me time.” God loves you and He is your biggest fan always.

“I have loved you with an everlasting love; I have drawn you with loving-kindness.” – Jeremiah 31:3b [NIV]

Leave a Reply

