Putting On The Act

I remember when I was a little girl and I would see someone put on an act. Everyone has seen someone put on an act at some point in life, and I believe that everyone has taken their attempt at trying to be a bit deceptive to the human eye as well. We leave ourselves very vulnerable if we allow our true selves to be seen. Plus some of our wrong decisions and our faults are embarrassing. Yet we are all sinners– we all fall short.

A big issue that has really impacted the feelings nonbelievers have for Christians has resulted from people trying to put on an act. There are some people who accept Christ into their lives and they begin to change, but all the changes are not positive. They take a step forward, believing that they are better than those who have not yet received Christ. For some reason the people fail to remember that they are still sinners saved by grace. At the same time, they have forgotten that the invitation remains there for nonbelievers and that they are to show the love of Christ to EVERYONE as they try to work for God’s purpose.

Recently I was questioned as to whether or not I would keep an old friend in my life who believed I was “religious.” The question arose because the person felt I would be judgmental of sin. The person deemed me “religious” simply because I shared Scripture and Christian music. To me, I feel not only that it is my duty to share God with everyone, but I also hope that in some way it will benefit someone who hears it. I have been shown many times how God works in amazing ways to touch the lives of others, even with something as crazy as Facebook. He can use anything for His glory.

So here I was with a message from an old friend who was putting me in a position to either condemn the person with my own personal judgment or show love. The reason that I was sent the message was simply because too many Christians are out there pointing fingers rather than reaching out. Too many Christians are showing hate, rather than showing love. The issue is that when we show love for a person, we are not choosing to love the sins of the person. There is a big difference. That is what bothers me so much about so many situations. I am disturbed when I see people lashing out at others for their sins. We understand that we are saved from our sins, but we need to also accept that if we look in the mirror, we are all still sinners saved by the grace of God. We are only cleansed because of Christ’s work on the cross, not by anything that we have done. In the end, we are all still sinners.

Therefore before we decide to put on our act of being better than others, we need to recognize that no one is better. We are all in the same boat. It’s just that some of us are wearing our life preservers already and some have not taken the time to put one on. The preserver is still there. Perhaps we all can grab a few and start handing them out. The Holy Spirit will guide us to do that, but we must change our attitude to one of gratitude and complete devotion to Christ. We need to start showing God’s love to all and let Him do the rest.

“For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, and are justified freely by His grace through the redemption that came by Christ Jesus.”
– Romans 3:23-24 [NIV]

Leave a Reply

