99 Cents

I recently went to McDonald’s to pick up some coffee. I decided to give the person exact change when I was paying for my order. To my surprise, the man behind the counter was fumbling around to get me change. I thought it was a simple process to gather a few bills; however, he looked a bit confused. He was asking a co-worker for more coins. Time passed by and still I did not get my change.

After more time had passed, the young man began to hand me change. He handed me ninety-nine cents in coins and began to hand me some bills. I stopped him immediately, because I knew there was an error in that I gave him exact change. It turned out that the young man entered the wrong figure into the cash register and was therefore told the wrong amount to give back. He never thought for a moment that the answer was wrong, for his faithful machine always did the math perfectly.

There are people who do the same thing with God’s Word. They approach His Word seeking for something that will approve of their ideals. They text proof Scripture simply to make themselves look right. They don’t have an input method that is correct, and so they get an answer that is wrong.

Just like we must put the right figure into the cash register if we expect to get the right answer, so we must also approach God’s Word with the right heart. We must seek the Holy Spirit for guidance and we need to understand that God’s Word does not change. God does not change. His Word does not change. It is the same for everyone.

Approach the Bible not seeking to get 99 cents back. Approach His Word for the truth, for 100% of God’s truth!

“All Scripture is inspired by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, for training in righteousness.”
– 2 Timothy 3:16 [NASB]

“The grass withers and the flowers fall, but the word of our God stands forever.”
– Isaiah 40:8 [NIV]

“You shall not add to the word that I command you, nor take from it, that you may keep the commandments of the LORD your God that I command you.” – Deuteronomy 4:2 [ESV]

Leave a Reply

