Burnt Pancakes

“Though the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vines, though the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food, though there are no sheep in the pen and no cattle in the stalls, yet I will rejoice in the Lord, I will be joyful in God my Savior. The Sovereign Lord is my strength; he makes my feet like the feet of a deer, he enables me to tread on the heights.” – Habakkuk 3:17-19 [NIV]

On Saturday mornings we have a family tradition that occurs almost like clockwork. Since my children were born nearly every Saturday morning I make us a big breakfast with pancakes, eggs, etc. When I make pancakes, there is something that I do that many people would find quite odd; I purposely burn a few pancakes for myself.

When I was a young girl, I fondly remember my grandma making my cousin and I both pancakes for breakfast. We would eat countless pancakes as my grandma continued to add more to our pile. As she got older, the pancakes changed. There were times when she would burn the pancakes because she couldn’t keep up like she had in years past. I couldn’t refuse to eat her pancakes. I ate the burnt pancakes and developed a taste for them. Hence the reason I have burnt pancakes that I make for myself now.

In life, we will be handed some delicious pancakes, but there will be times when burnt ones will come our way too. It is how you respond to those burnt pancakes that show your true colors—who you really are as a person. Anyone can gladly accept the good things in the life—but not everyone can joyfully accept the bad things.

Today, rejoice and be joyful in all situations, remembering that God has a much bigger picture. It’s really not about the pancakes at all.

One response

  1. We have a similar tradition for Sunday mornings. We try to avoid the burnt pancakes, but sometimes they get away from us. I’ve noticed that the person cooking them is often the one to eat them, whether it is me or my husband. I guess that’s how we show our love through self-sacrifice.

Leave a Reply

