Always Be Ready

When my daughter thought I was returning at one time, but I was returning a bit earlier, she decided to put her chores off till later in the day. To her surprise, she did not hear the correct time and since she put off her chores, I returned before she even started the work she was assigned. As I walked into the kitchen, she immediately said, “I didn’t know you were coming home already” and she began running to quickly do her chores.

If she would have not put off doing her chores, she might have had some or all of them accomplished before I returned. She was only off a few hours from the actual time I was going to return, which meant she was waiting till the last minute to prepare herself for my return.  This is so like those who are not prepared for the return of Jesus. We don’t know the time of His return, but we do know that He is coming. We have a task set before us and we should not be found pushing things off thinking he will be awhile.

In Matthew 25, the bridgegroom took a long time to arrive so people began to tire and fall asleep. Some of the virgins were wise and had oil, while others were foolish and had none. Eventually the bridegroom came and to the people who were not prepared came the punishment of not being allowed entrance to the wedding feast. It is so important to always be ready.

“So you, too, must keep watch! For you do not know the day or hour of my return.” – Matthew 25:13 [NLT]

FearNot Logo EDITED FINAL square logo

Leave a Reply

