From the Heart

On the way home from work, I was singing loudly during the praise and worship music. I would say 90% of the time you will find me doing this while driving. I came to a red light and stopped in traffic. Still singing with windows open, a SUV pulled aside me in the turning lane. They had their windows down and there were two kids in the back seat. They were not fans of my singing and yelled for me to quiet down but I kept on singing.

I do not have a very pleasant singing voice but when I am singing praises to God, I am not performing for judges or trying to land a record deal. God does not say to His off-key children, “Stop singing. I didn’t give you the gift of a great singing voice.” It is not about the voice. It is not about the musical talent. It is about the heart. When we sing it should be an outpouring of our heart.

Today sing as if no one is watching—and if someone is watching, don’t stop because you aren’t Grammy material. Sing to the Lord. Praise Him. Give Him the praise that He alone deserves.

“Let everything that has breath praise the LORD. Praise the LORD.” – Psalm 150:6 [NIV]

FearNot Logo EDITED FINAL square logo

Leave a Reply

