Wise Walker

Your environment matters. The people you hang out with matter. I’ve heard stories of undercover cops getting sucked into criminal activity because they were undercover for so long. There are also the examples of a child moving to another school and falling in with a different crowd. They start acting differently. The words they use are different. I find myself seeing this in action with myself. If I hang out with a particular group of people I begin to use slang. I return home with slang words coming out of my mouth. Or I will spend some time with those who use exquisite grammar and I end up sounding very intelligent when I arrive home.

Today’s proverb says “walk with the wise and become wise.” We are all sponges and we soak up what is around us. If we are spending a lot of time with people who are considered wise, we gain a lot of information from these people simply by being with them. At the same time, if we spend time with fools, we start learning their ways. This is the same way with positive and negative people. If you surround yourself with positive people, you’ll be more likely to be positive. If you are always around negativity, you will be just as pessimistic.

Do not think your company doesn’t matter. We are to go into the world and share the Gospel, but we must also make sure that we are surrounding ourselves with people who will edify. Make sure you have a community around you that can help you to be who Jesus has created you to be so you can benefit the kingdom.

“Walk with the wise and become wise; associate with fools and get in trouble.” – Proverbs 13:20 [NLT]

FearNot Logo EDITED FINAL square logo

Leave a Reply

