A Cheerful Heart

This morning I walked into work and stood at the time clock. Around the corner someone was in their office; however, they knew it was me standing outside their door. Why? Because I’m “always humming.” Why do I hum? Well I don’t want to scare people away with my singing. Seriously though, I am humming praise music. All day long I am humming praise music at work. It certainly keeps me upbeat through the day as I continue to worship Him, switching from song to song, reminding myself of His greatness, of His Word, of His love.

Proverbs 15 speaks about “a cheerful heart (that) fills the day with song.” People can tell that I am cheerful when I am humming. Trust me, when I’m not humming I get asked “what is wrong.” It is very true that when I am not humming, I am not feeling very well, whether it be pain, depression, sadness, etc. It usually doesn’t take me long to get back to the humming when I realize I have stopped.

Do you really have something to be cheerful about? If you know Jesus, I would definitely say you do. Perhaps you aren’t a hummer, but can people tell that you are cheerful by your actions or would people probably say you are miserable? There’s this person I know who always is smiling, always upbeat, always shining with each person she meets. It doesn’t matter if she is in pain, if things are not going her way, etc. She always is cheerful. I can see it. I can feel it. Everyone around her can. Why? Jesus. Every day she wakes up and thanks the good Lord for another day. A cheerful heart fills the day with song.

“A miserable heart means a miserable life;
a cheerful heart fills the day with song.”

-Proverbs 15:15 [MSG]

FearNot Logo EDITED FINAL square logo

Leave a Reply

