Invisible Heat

There is a great difference between cooking with propane and cooking with charcoal. I never realized this until a few days ago. Many years ago I had learned how to cook with propane. I was given all the instructions and never even considered cooking with charcoal. Sadly my propane grill met its demise and my budget only allowed for a small, portable 14” charcoal grill. It would prepare the amount of food needed and it worked for the Dave Ramsey budget.

Charcoal is different than propane though. It took me a few attempts to even get the food to cook properly. I expected to see a flame. I expected to see what I saw when I cooked with the propane grill. I could not grasp the fact that the food would cook without big flames being visible. I had to do research to figure out that my expectations were very different from the reality of charcoal grilling.

In the same way, God is working in your life without signs necessarily being visible. You might not even know He’s up to something when He is actively working. He is always present. He is always working out His purpose. He is always around whether you see signs or you are not seeing anything. Today remember what God has promised you. He will always be there. He will not forsake you.

“Do not be afraid or discouraged, for the LORD will personally go ahead of you. He will be with you; he will neither fail you nor abandon you.” – Deuteronomy 31:8 [NLT]

“I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you. Before long, the world will not see me anymore, but you will see me. Because I live, you also will live. On that day you will realize that I am in my Father, and you are in me, and I am in you.” – John 14:18-20 [NIV]

Leave a Reply

