Two Bees

A week before my eighteenth birthday I was stung by underground bees and had to be rushed to the hospital from anaphylactic shock. I remember the quick drive to the emergency room. I remember praying to make it okay because I was afraid to die. I was on a stretcher begging for my life.

A little over a week ago I was stung again by underground bees. I was once again frantic, but not because I was afraid that I wouldn’t make it. I was flailing around for I did not want to have a negative reaction because I was planning to soon head over to church to set up for Vacation Bible School. I was no longer eighteen and focused on me; I’m 35 and usually focused on God and working for His Kingdom.

Here I am. I’m still here. Unlike the last time, there were no hives, no struggling to breathe. I wanted to share this story simply to encourage you today. You are a work in progress. Little by little God helps you to be the person He made you to be in life. You might be fearful about something. You might focus a lot of the time on yourself. You’re not where He wants you to be or where you want you to be yet. But He’s not finished and you do not have to live like you’re finished either. You were made for so much more. Remember each day—focus on Him. Make your aim to love Him and to know Him and to share Him with all you meet. There’s so much more for each of us. Keep on keeping on. And watch out for those bees!

“And I am certain that God, who began the good work within you, will continue his work until it is finally finished on the day when Christ Jesus returns.” – Philippians 1:6 [NLT]

Leave a Reply

