Scars

As I mentioned before, I am allergic to bees and I once again was viciously attacked. Well that’s how I see it. Nonetheless, as I walked Max this morning, I noticed the sting location is going to be a scar. I also remembered that there was already a scar there beneath this newly forming scar. It is kind of humorous to consider that both scars were my fault.

Years ago when VCR’s existed (before DVD players), I received one for a gift. I was so excited and wanted so badly to open it up. I refused to wait and I refused help. I was greedy. Pure and simple.I grabbed my keys and tried to use my house key to cut open the packaging tape. It ended up finding its way into my hand. It left a nice scar to remind me. When I recently was stung by bees, it was because I was standing on their underground nest. But why was I there? The neighbor told me that there was honeycomb above. I was spraying those very different bees while trying to remove the honeycomb. I should have asked for help. I should have called someone but I was too prideful. So two scars, two areas that needed some work in my life.

God has a way of sometimes smacking you right in the head by placing something right before you to show you what needs work. We like to see the best in ourselves, and even when we are being negative about our faults, we often do not address our biggest faults. We are often blinded by them. We often deny them. We would much rather ignore than acknowledge. Today, God might be trying to show you something. You might be paying attention or He might need to get your attention. Either way, He wants to show you things. He doesn’t want to leave you how you are right now. He loves you so much and He’s got a great plan. Don’t settle for less.

“Making your ear attentive to wisdom
and inclining your heart to understanding;
yes, if you call out for insight
and raise your voice for understanding,
if you seek it like silver
and search for it as for hidden treasures,
then you will understand the fear of the LORD
and find the knowledge of God.”
-Proverbs 2:2-5 [ESV]

Leave a Reply

