Gravity

I recently watched the movie ‘Gravity’ with Sandra Bullock. There was a moment in the movie when Sandra’s character was in real trouble. Much of the movie found her character trying to make her way back to Earth despite catastrophe after catastrophe, hardship after setback. At this point in the movie, it appeared as if all hope was gone. Sandra’s character says something like, “I’d pray but no one every taught me how.” When I heard that I couldn’t help but consider those who don’t pray because they think they do not know how to pray or that they need to be taught by someone how to pray.

When I was a little girl my grandma introduced me to Jesus. I spent many years of my life speaking to Jesus. I included Him in my life just as He wants to be included. I gave Him my everything. I had long winded conversations. I talked about anything and everything. He was a part of my life. Years later things changed. I’m not sure how it all changed but things were very different. People made me think that my prayers were not right. I had to say them a certain way. I had to be in a certain position. I had to speak particular words. When I followed their instructions I did not feel like I was speaking to God, as I did as a child. It was very different.

God wants you to speak with Him, to pour out your heart. The Bible talks about a child-like faith and I think when I look back on my conversations with God as a child, He enjoyed those talks a lot more than me stammering around trying to fulfill what was prim and proper by the world’s standards. When I was a child I prayed. When I got older, I was taught “how to pray.” I spent years having to learn to not do what I later did. Don’t allow something or someone be a stumbling block to God. He wants you to speak. You. Just you. It doesn’t matter how you come. It is your heart that matters. In the movie, the characters flew all around with ease because of gravity. Imagine if your prayer life could feel at ease too. Imagine if you could just be you with God. How freeing is that? How beautiful is that?

“The LORD is close to all who call on him, yes, to all who call on him in truth.” – Psalm 145:18 [NLT]

Leave a Reply

