The Lost Bottle

When I was a young girl I had a favorite Barbie doll. It was a Barbie and the Rockers doll. I was so upset when we moved and it was lost. I had tried hard to find it but never could relocate my favorite doll. This morning as I walked Max we passed a house for sale with a toy baby bottle in the grass. We actually pass by that home each morning and saw the owners moving out so my mind wandered and I thought what if a poor child lost the baby bottle for her doll

It’s frustrating when we lose things. Even as we get older and dolls and toys are not are favorite things, we get irritated when things are misplaced or even lost. But there are some things we cannot lose—there is One who we cannot lose. When you receive the Holy Spirit, when you accept Jesus Christ into your life and are baptized and receive God in you, He is always with you. Always.

There’s no, God “come down on us.” He’s in us. You do not have to ask for His presence. You have His presence. You may need to ask for Him to help you to feel His presence, to listen, to know He’s there. It is also not a situation where we can ask God to give us more of Him. He has already given us ALL of Him. The problem is we are often so full of ourselves that we are not focused on Him. Dying to self involves more of Him and less of you. It doesn’t mean you lose yourself—you gain your true self, who you were meant to be in life. Today remember that you cannot lose Him. You can only lose the opportunity to know and have a relationship with Him if you are too full of yourself.

“But in fact, it is best for you that I go away, because if I don’t, the Advocate won’t come. If I do go away, then I will send him to you.” – John 16:7 [NLT]

Leave a Reply

