Swollen Lips

I decided to reward myself with a cool dessert and pulled open the freezer to retrieve the ice cream. I chose the Peanut Butter Swirl kind and started to enjoy one of my favorite ice creams, though it was not a brand I typically eat. After a few bites, my lips started to feel strange. Before I finished my dessert, I realized my lips were swollen. The kids had a good laugh as I had difficulty speaking.

The swelling of my lips was clear evidence of something wrong, likely a nut allergy. Only a few seconds after having the peanut butter touch my lips it was noticeable. That is not always the case with sin though. You might not see the consequences of a sin right away. While you are in the middle of a sin, you might feel good. You might feel great. But whether it is quickly thereafter, or if it is awhile later, there will be consequences. Whether you notice them or not is another story.

When David had eyes for Bathsheba, he knowingly committed adultery. He then scrambled around to find a way to cover up what he did. The truth is you cannot bury a sin so deep that it is never seen. God sees all and the truth eventually comes out. In this case David tried to cover a sin with another sin. He later faced the heartbreak of losing a child because of his actions. Today remember that you might not see consequences for your shortcomings, but there will be consequences. Sometimes they are not faced by you alone but by those around you. Repent. Accept God’s forgiveness. Change your mind and step by step you will change your ways.

“Then David confessed to Nathan, ‘I’ve sinned against GOD.’ Nathan pronounced, ‘Yes, but that’s not the last word. GOD forgives your sin. You won’t die for it. But because of your blasphemous behavior, the son born to you will die.’” – 2 Samuel 12:13-14 [MSG]

Leave a Reply

