The Yellow Shirt

It was early morning and I had broken sleep. I had not had my morning cup of coffee and I was walking not one, but two dogs, as Max was joined with his pal Marci. I felt like I was sleepwalking through the first half mile. I looked forward and saw a man in the distance sitting on a lawn chair. He looked jaundice. I immediately began to pray for him. As I got closer I realized he was just bald and he was wearing a yellow shirt. It was highly unlikely that he had jaundice. Then I said, “Lord, you’re probably laughing at me. I know I would.”

It was a good morning laugh. I was so quick to pray for the man and it was for something not relevant; however, I’m sure that God answered my prayer. The point that I want to highlight is the fact that I instantly prayed for the person. I don’t always do that but it is the best thing to do when we know of someone who is in need of prayer. When someone asks you to pray for them, do it right away. It does not matter where you are at or who you are around or what you are doing.

Prayer lists are great. I have one. Having a set time of the day when you connect with God in prayer is great as well. But there should always be this open door policy throughout your day where there’s no list, there’s no set time, there’s just you and God. When you are driving in your car and you see someone in need of prayer, pray for them. When you are on your work break and just saw someone post something on Facebook that shows a need, pray for them. Right then and there. Sometimes we put the list together and lose it. Sometimes we plan to take that list to our bedroom and pray before bed but we fall asleep with only good intentions that failed. You will feel better if you pray right away and at the same time, you will know that you took it to God first. It is always best in His hands.

“I love the LORD because he hears and answers my prayers. Because he bends down and listens, I will pray as long as I have breath!” – Psalm 116:1-2 [NLT]

Leave a Reply

