How Can I Help

How often do you wake up and say, “How can I help”? It’s not something we always want to do because helping can be an inconvenience. Helping can be uncomfortable. Helping may cause us to sacrifice. But if you wake up each morning and ask God how you can help, don’t be surprised when you get lots and lots of answers.

There was a time when I woke up and thinking of others was far from my mind. Even today there are days when I wake up and I want to live for me. But God has been helping me to see how awesome it is to ask how I can help when I start my day. So on a normal day I wake up and thank God for the opportunity to serve Him another day. Then I ask how I can help. And when there’s someone struggling, I don’t pray only for them to find relief, be healed, receive direction, etc., but I ask God how I can be used in the situation.

Watch out when you ask this question. God may open your eyes to many people in need. God may place before you people who need rides, who need a shoulder to cry upon, who are going to pull you out of your comfort zone. You might have to change your routine so you can help someone. You may have to leave early to pick up someone for a ride. There may be a phone call when you wanted to watch television and veg. Paul wrote to “not just do what is most convenient.” There are people who falter. There are people in need. We “are strong and able in the faith” so that we can “step in and lend a hand.” So how can YOU help today?

“Those of us who are strong and able in the faith need to step in and lend a hand to those who falter, and not just do what is most convenient for us. Strength is for service, not status. Each one of us needs to look after the good of the people around us, asking ourselves, ‘How can I help?’” – Romans 15:1-2 [MSG]

Leave a Reply

