Spilled Coffee

Yesterday I knew that it would be difficult to share something while giving the message God wanted me to share. Though I can think back on things and feel at peace and praise God through it all, there are moments when the tears still come. When I remember something, I remember it as if it is fresh in my mind, happening right this very moment. The tears may pour and I’ll remind myself time has passed, God is good and I trust in Him.

Nonetheless, I did not want to start tearing up to the point of not being able to speak. I did not want to become a bawl baby and not be able to share the message God gave to me for the night. I prayed for days for the tears to be controlled, for strength, for the right timing, for peace. Not only did I get those things—but I also got spilled coffee.

I have AdHd. I am not one to scan around the room too much with my eyes because I notice things and my mind wanders. Right before I was about to speak about what would be difficult, I noticed a dear brother in Christ in the front row spilled his coffee. Jokingly I said, “You just spilled coffee. Now I’m going to cry.” But it was that humor and that light moment that helped me to press forward through what was to be shared. Prayers get answered, sometimes in ways you would not imagine. James wrote, “The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective” (5:16 NIV). Today, don’t forget to pray. Don’t forget to ask God, to go before Him with everything that is on your heart. He cares. He loves you. Just pour your heart out to Him.

“The LORD is near to all who call on him, to all who call on him in truth.” – Psalm 145:18 [NIV]

Leave a Reply

