Turn My Eyes

Moses had a very intimate relationship with God. Moses said to God, “Let me know your ways so I may understand You more fully” (Exodus 33:13b NLT). He desired to understand God—to truly know God. The Psalmist wrote that, “He (God) made known His ways to Moses, His acts to the sons of Israel” (103:7 NASB). God’s ways must be made known. Israel only knew God by His actions; Moses knew God more intimately. God spoke to Moses. Moses wanted to hear Him, wanted to listen and obey.

I love what the Psalmist writes in 119. Verse 34 begins, “Give me understanding, that I may keep your law and observe it with my whole heart. The passage continues, “Lead me in the path of Your commandments, for I delight in it. Incline my heart to Your testimonies, and not to selfish gain! Turn my eyes from looking at worthless things; and give me life in Your ways” (34-37 ESV).

What an amazing prayer! Give me understanding. I want to keep Your law with all my heart. Lead me. I delight in Your commands. Incline my heart. May it all be about You. Turn my eyes to You. Keep them away from those things that are worthless. I only want You. Give me life in Your ways. Life everlasting. Lord, fix my eyes on You.

One response

  1. […] Turn My Eyes (4110fearnot.wordpress.com) Moses had a very intimate relationship with God. Moses said to God, “Let me know your ways so I may understand You more fully” (Exodus 33:13b NLT). He desired to understand God—to truly know God. The Psalmist wrote that, “He (God) made known His ways to Moses, His acts to the sons of Israel” (103:7 NASB). God’s ways must be made known. Israel only knew God by His actions; Moses knew God more intimately. God spoke to Moses. Moses wanted to hear Him, wanted to listen and obey. […]

Leave a Reply

