Hayride Excitement

As I was walking the dogs tonight, I saw something you do not see every day. It was the first time I saw this in my neighborhood. There was a hayride going down my road. It was bizarre. I never saw something like that in my area. But one group road by, and then another passed by thereafter. It was adorable seeing the kids waving.

The kids on the hayride were waving at the dogs. The dogs could care less. I told Max to look at the kids; however, he was busy doing his own thing. Marci was looking in an all-together different direction. The kids kept waving and waving, and only I was excited. Only I waved back.

So often in life, we get excited and we wave to others for attention. As we do, our waves are not returned. It is because we are waving at those who aren’t interested or do not care. We waste our “waves” on those who couldn’t be bothered. Even so, we have a God we could wave at any time and He would pay attention. He already is watching. Why do we wave when we need help, when we have a prayer request, when we are hurting, but we do not wave when we are having a good time? We share our troubles, but we don’t share during the blessed days.

Who are you waving at today? Are you trying to get attention from someone who doesn’t pay you any mind? Why not fix your eyes on your Creator? Did you know He’s your number one fan? He’s reaching for you. Reach back.

“I have loved you with an everlasting love; I have drawn you with loving-kindness.” – Jeremiah 31:3b [NIV]

Leave a Reply

