Ephesians Study: God’s Workmanship

[Ephesians 2:1-10]

All you do is STRANGE and WONDERFUL (Psalm 139:14)

We are clay. You are the Potter. We are all the work of Your hand (Isaiah 64:8)

God is Rich in Mercy

  • By Grace saved through faith
  • Gift of God – not works – not fulfillment of Law’s demands least man boast

Because of Great Love for Us

  • Great
  • Wonderful
  • Intense

Even Loved us when Dead in Sin – He made us Alive with Christ

  • In fellowship with Christ – sit down together with Him in heaven
  • In union with Christ – raised together with Him
  • He gave us the very life of Christ Himself

We are His Workmanship

  • In Jesus Christ – recreated in Christ / born anew
  • For good worksfruit of faith / done for God’s glory
  • Prepared beforehand/ predestined / prearranged / made ready

GOD DOES THE MAKING AND THE SAVING – It is FINISHED!

I am accepted I am secure I am significant
I am God’s child (John 1:12) I am free from condemnation (Romans 8:1-2) I am salt & light of earth (Matthew 5:13-14)
I have been justified through Christ (Romans 5:1) I am established, anointed, sealed by God (2 Cor. 1:21-22) I am chosen & appointed to bear fruit (John 15:16)
I am united with the Lord (1 Corinthians 6:17) I am citizen of heaven (Philippians 3:20) I am a personal witness of Christ (Act 1:8)
I am a member of Christ’s body (1 Cor. 12:27) I can find grace & mercy in time of need (Hebrews 4:16) I am God’s temple (1 Corinthians 3:16)
I am a saint (Ephesians 1:1) I am born of God; evil one cannot touch me (1 Jn. 5:18) I am God’s co-worker (1 Corinthians 3:9)
I have been redeemed and forgiven (Colossians 1:14) I can’t be separated from the love of God (Rom. 8:35-39) I am seated with Christ in heavenly realm (Eph. 2:6)
I have access to God thru the Holy Spirit (Ephesians 2:18) I have not been given a spirit of fear, but of power, love & a sound mind (2 Tim. 1:7) I am God’s workmanship (Ephesians 2:10)

Bible Study Questions:

  • What was our condition before Christ?
  • What motivated God to save us? What does it mean to be saved?
  • What did God do even though we were dead in trespasses? How?
  • In verse 2:9, Paul speaks about salvation not being a reward for good things we have done. Why was this necessary? What is our part of the salvation process?
  • The passage speaks about good works that were prepared in advance. What does this mean? What does this mean for you? How is this different from what the world thinks of good works?
  • In Ephesians 2:10, Paul says that we are “God’s workmanship.” What does this mean to you? Why is it sometimes difficult to see yourself as such?

This is one part of a 12-week Sermon Series and Bible Study focused on Ephesians. The 12 weeks include:

1- Sons and Daughters

2- Immeasurable Greatness

3- God’s Workmanship

4- Our Cornerstone

5- Least of the Saints

6- Love of Christ

7- Abundantly More

8- Unity of the Body

9- Anger Management

10- Exposed by the Light

11- Submission

12- Prepared for Battle

11 responses

  1. […] Management Unity of the Body Abundantly More Love of Christ Least of the Saints Our Cornerstone God’s Workmanship Immeasurable Greatness Sons and […]

Leave a Reply

