Old Mans Rubble

For the past few weeks, I have had a song in my head—one of the first “Christian” songs I used to jam out to as a child. The song that kept replaying was “Old Man’s Rubble,” sang by Amy Grant. It is a song older than me, a song that appeared on Amy’s first album. The chorus asks if you are living in an “old man’s rubble.” After a few weeks, I wondered why it was still stuck in my head.

When I was young, I used to sing the song with great passion, focusing on the lyrics about “listening to the father of lies.” I knew back then that he was and is the father of lies; however, today I can grasp things more clearly. Today I can easily understand that the song isn’t about the father of lies or the old man’s rubble, but rather, about the new creation that results from knowing the Father of light, about rejoicing in Him who is making all things new.

As we begin a new year, we need not focus on the old man’s rubble. Rubble is something that is left behind. It is defined as waste or wreckage. It is what is left behind after a collapse. Rubble remains. It is the ruins. It’s debris. We walk through the rubble to something better, something greater than that which we leave behind. The song says we will be “living in a mighty fortress” and we will be “clothed in power and might.” Embrace these lyrics. Trust that the old man you once were is rubble, and do not try to carry it with you into what God has for you next. Ready yourself.

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.” – 2 Corinthians 5:17 [ESV]

Leave a Reply

