Prayers of a Parent

As a parent, life changes completely. Our focus, our time, everything is different. We want the very best for our children. The most important part of our lives should be the most important part of their lives – Jesus. As both a Christian and a parent, the ultimate question that we hope is answered with a “yes” is a simple one—Did they accept Jesus? It is the most important decision. It is the difference between life and death!

My children both are believers; however, the fruit for one is more bountiful than the other. I find myself often on my knees praying that my child will let Jesus in deeper, that my child will give up the control, the emotions, the wandering focus, and allow the Spirit to move freely. The past few weeks, I’ve noticed things have been changing. The once more hardened heart is starting to soften up. It certainly has been interesting.

I am excited to see the awesome work God will do through my children for His Kingdom. Thank you Lord for holding my children in Your hands. I know You have promised that not one could be snatched from Your hands. Friends, keep praying for your children. Pray like Hannah (see 1 Samuel 1). Keep lifting them up to Him. Understand that your prayers for your children are of the most important part of parenting.

“For this boy I prayed, and the LORD has given me my petition which I asked of Him.” – 1 Samuel 1:27 [NASB]

Leave a Reply

