Fuzzy Reality

This morning I was walking around taking care of some chores as I was waiting to wash my face mask off and put my glasses back on. If anyone knows me, they know that I must have my glasses on to see. I have really bad vision, and everything is fuzzy without my trusty glasses. Those ten minutes were challenging, a great reminder of the blessing of sight.

Without my glasses, I could still make out what I was seeing because I had a good idea of things. It was the details that I could not figure out. Ten minutes seemed like a long time; if I had to go all day without my glasses, I would be lost.

This morning adventure got me thinking about understanding truth. All of us are like me without my glasses. We can see some truth. We can grasp a bit of truth. Even so, we do not fully see and know all. We can only understand so much. The world tells us that truth is what we make of it. That is comparable to me thinking the afghan is my dog or that the bowl in the sink is empty. It might look like my dog; it might look empty—but I don’t have my glasses on so I miss the boat. In the same way, if we make truth be whatever we think is truth, we miss the boat. We can only get truth from Jesus Christ. It is a slow process of walking with God and allowing Him to reveal it to you piece by piece. But it’s not made up. It’s not what we want it to be either. It is what God says it is—it is truth! Today, ask Him to open your eyes, to help you to see Truth like never before.

“For the law was given through Moses; grace and truth came through Jesus Christ.” – John 1:17 [ESV]

“Pilate said, ‘So you are a king?’ Jesus responded, ‘You say I am a king. Actually, I was born and came into the world to testify to the truth. All who love the truth recognize that what I say is true.’” – John 18:37 [NLT]

Got a new Bible this morning. @ajesuslife

A post shared by Tania Goody (@taniagoody) on

Leave a Reply

