My Song

The song of Moses and Miriam is great. The Israelites were in awe over what the Lord did to lead them out of Egyptian slavery. This song was sung by Moses and the Israelites as an offering of praise and a declaration of the greatness of God.

The song is a holy song, one to honor God and lift up His great name. Verse 2 speaks of the Lord as one’s strength and song. In this verse, the Israelites declare that God is their strength and their song. The strength is easy to understand. We are weak; He is strong. They couldn’t escape the slavery of the Egyptians; however, God could lead them to freedom by His strength.

But what about the song? How is God our song? God is only your song is He is on your lips. This means you are forever praising Him. You are forever signing His praises and pointing to Him. Has He been your strength and your song? Have you praised His great name today?

“The LORD is my strength and my song; He has given me victory. This is my God, and I will praise Him–my father’s God, and I will exalt Him!” – Exodus 15:2 [NLT]

Leave a Reply

