Work on You

This past week, I have had to give my son a bit more attention than usual. He’s a teenager so he doesn’t usually need so much hands on time for his care. Our time spent together is more talking and chilling. I enjoy those moments, though I occasionally miss the baby days. I cherish these days, watching him grow into a young man, excited to see what God will do next in his life. When he got his wisdom teeth out, I knew following the surgery would be a regression that meant mom would have to step up more.

While I was working from home and checking on him every few hours, making sure he was following the doctor’s orders, etc., I was doing more than I am accustomed to at this stage of my life. I must have run up the stairs a hundred times the first few days. A few days ago, I found myself starting to have sinus issues. My allergies got out of control and I was so busy taking care of my son, that I neglected to address what was happening to me. We do that often as parents. Then we end up with a persistent cough, a lack of energy, and eyes that keep trying to close through the day. Yes, when the oxygen masks fall on the airplane, we are supposed to put our own on first. That’s the only way we can help others on the plane. The jest of the lesson is to care for ourselves first so we can care for others. Now, don’t get all proud and be all you, you, you.

The Bible wants us to care for others. The greatest commandments are to love God and to love others. The Bible also tells us to look out for the best interests of others. I could go on and on. But the Bible also tells us to share our hope, to share what we have learned, to teach our children, to feed the needy, to clothe the naked, to tell the nations, etc. This means we need to take the steps, to be intentional with our spiritual well-being and our spiritual growth. We must always be aware of where we are at spiritually, and always be taking care of those spiritual needs. This includes things like prayer, Bible reading and study, time of rest, mentorship, church participation, service, etc. If we don’t address ourselves and our own needs, we cannot do what God has called us to do in reaching others, influencing others, caring for others, teaching others, etc. Look at your spiritual well-being today. How are you doing?

“My child, pay attention to what I say. Listen carefully to my words. Don’t lose sight of them. Let them penetrate deep into your heart, for they bring life to those who find them, and healing to their whole body.” – Proverbs 4:20-22 [NLT]

 

Leave a Reply

