Taste for Yourself

I love the sense of taste. I will admit that I like food. When I have the time, I love to experiment in the kitchen with different foods. You never know if you like something unless you taste it. I’ve told my children about this numerous times. You must first taste it. I used to make them take a bit of anything new that I tried. If they didn’t like whatever I had made, just so long as they took the bite and tried the new concoction.

When the Psalmist says, “Taste and see that the LORD is good,” it reminds me of this kitchen taste test moment. You cannot taste a fork full of turkey stroganoff for someone else. When you take a bite to taste something, you are using your own mouth. It is your own taste buds that are sensing whatever you have placed in your mouth. It is your own brain that is receiving messages to let you know if you like something or do not like something.

So what does it mean to taste and see that the Lord is good? The Message translates this as, “Open your mouth and taste, open your eyes and see – how good God is. Blessed are you who run to Him.” This verse invites us to spend time with God, to look at God—seriously look to Him. Experience Him. Walk in faith, giving Him the opportunity to show you Who He is. Understand that no one else can taste for you. Just like with food, you have to be the taste tester when it comes to tasting the Lord. No one else can help you get saved. Your relationship with God is just the two of you. Today, taste and see that the LORD is good.

“Taste and see that the LORD is good. Oh, the joys of those who take refuge in Him!” – Psalm 34:8 [NLT]

Leave a Reply

