Calmed Myself

There are moments in life that certainly cannot be described as calm. Because of my intense energy issues, I invest a lot in an attempt to stay calm. I cannot have a lot of noise and light stimulation due to my diagnosis. I cannot have a lot of sugar or caffeine. Along with the removal of some items, I also have things I do in my life to help remove that extra crazy energy. I drink calming herbal teas like teas with chamomile and tension taming tea. I exercise, taking daily walks and using my Fit Board. I put on calming music. I use candles. Above all, I read God’s Word.

The Psalmist wrote about calming and quieting himself. This means that he slowed down and quieted his mind. As the Psalmist wrote, “My soul waits in silence for my God only” (62:1 NASB). This is something that we have to be intentional with to accomplish. We don’t naturally walk around calmed and quieted. In the age of social media and handheld technology, the world doesn’t really allow us to walk around like this because it’s wild and busy 24/7. As well, even if our minds have not been rewired from the new tech advancements, our minds have wandered for many years prior.

Today, take some time to calm yourself so that you can hear God speak. Find a quiet place to sit with God’s Word. Don’t feel pressured to speak. Open His Word. Read. Allow yourself to sit in silence with God. It is during these moments when we are able to hear the whisper of the One with the still small voice.

“Instead, I have calmed and quieted myself, like a weaned child who no longer cries for its mother’s milk. Yes, like a weaned child is my soul within me.” – Psalm 131:2 [NLT]

Leave a Reply

