Mail Truck

Recently I noticed something. Mail trucks and vans do not have license plates. I never knew it. For some reason, I never looked for their license plates. I happened to be stopped behind a mail van during my travels and found myself staring at where the license plate should be and thought to myself, who knew?!? I missed it and yet I see mail trucks every day. I have seen hundreds, maybe thousands, of mail trucks.

Whether you have good vision or failing vision, you could miss something like that if you aren’t intentionally looking. In the same way, when you are going through your day, you can miss how God is moving if you are not living intentionally. This means recognizing that you are living continually in the presence of God. This means keeping your eyes fixed on Him and following His leading. This means not being overly busy or drowning in the ungodly.

God brings people into your path. Surrounding you are the unseen angel armies and the visible beauty of Creation. Given to us is His Word and the Spirit of God is poured into us the moment we declare the name of Jesus. Too often we declare the absence of God—we question if He is truly active and moving in our lives. With our attention elsewhere, we miss seeing Him move. We instead have our eyes focused on where we expect Him to be, despite knowing we do not think or imagine as God. Today, take time to sit in the silence. Breathe in. Listen to the quiet. Get away from the noise. Ask Him to reveal Himself to you in a new and awesome way. Then be continually aware of His presence as you go through your day. Continue your conversation with Him throughout the day. Expect Him to move. Enjoy the God who is with you always.

“I keep my eyes always on the LORD. With Him at my right hand, I will not be shaken.” – Psalm 16:8 [NIV]

Leave a Reply

