Constantly

I remember the time David was brought before Abimelech and he pretended to be crazy so he would not face death. I still recall the first time I read that and chuckled at the thought of David their acting in this manner. But what I remember more so is the Psalm that David wrote from this event—especially the first verse. It says, “I will praise the LORD at all times. I will constantly speak his praises.”

There are two things that are very clear by this verse. David said he would praise the Lord at ALL TIMES. David said he would praise the Lord CONSTANTLY. All times means good times and bad times. All times means when things are going well and when things are not going so well. All times means when you cannot see light at the end of the tunnel and when you are knee deep in problems or when things are just rainbows and butterflies. Constantly means never ending. Constantly means continually. Constantly means always. How can you praise Him constantly? In everything give thanks. In everything point to Him. In every circumstance, as Paul said, be happy. Constantly means it’s a way of life.

Today, are you praising the Lord at all times? Are you continuously praising the Lord? Let your life be a life of praise to the Lord. With everything you do, praise Him.

“A psalm of David, regarding the time he pretended to be insane in front of Abimelech, who sent him away. I will praise the LORD at all times. I will constantly speak his praises.” – Psalm 34:1 [NLT]

One thought on “Constantly

Leave a comment