Spider Web

This morning began the start of the battle with the spider, which happens every year around this time. For some reason, the spiders love to construct a web right where I will walk. Every single day. As I always leave first, I am the “victim” who either walks straight into the web or has the not-so-great task of knocking down the web. Every time I encounter the spider web, I feel like I have a spider crawling on me. This thought does not leave my head for some time.  The hardest thing about the spider battle is today, the first day. I could not see the web. I did not expect it to be there. But now I will have my eyes open and I’ll be prepared for this web season.

Jesus said that He came into the world so that those who do not see may see. The people were spiritually blind, and many are still today. Jesus came to open eyes to Truth. He is Truth. In John 18:37, Jesus responds to Pilate: “You say I am a king. Actually, I was born and came into the world to testify to the truth. All who love the truth recognize that what I say is true” (NLT).

Today, if your eyes are open to the Truth, if you have received Jesus Christ, spend some time in God’s Word. Allow His Spirit to guide you, to open your eyes to things you may not have once understood—to see things and glean things in a new way. Remember as well, that there are many spiritual blind people today, people in great need of Truth. Shine a light on the Truth. Live Truth. Speak Truth. Walk in Truth so that by your example, people may come to know He Who is Truth.

“Jesus said, ‘For judgment I came into this world, that those who do not see may see, and those who see may become blind.’” – John 9:39 [ESV]

“I am the LORD, I have called you in righteousness, I will also hold you by the hand and watch over you, And I will appoint you as a covenant to the people, As a light to the nations, To open blind eyes, To bring out prisoners from the dungeon And those who dwell in darkness from the prison.” – Isaiah 42:6-7 [NASB]

Leave a comment